Who I Am (now)…

Now, I’m almost 53 years old.  I just graduated from college with an Associate degree in Fine Art. I have a boyfriend, Frankie, of 5, almost 6 years. My son, Brandon is 27. I live with 2 dogs, My Dog Jack, a Carolina Brown Dog mix (maybe?)and Booelzabub, (Boo) a 1/2 Chihuahua, 1/2 Demon rescue from the pound. There’s an outside cat, Alice, who resides between here and the apartments up the road, where she claims the name of “Parking Lot Kitty” and there are 11 fish (7 Bettas, 1 small Catfish, 2 Guppies and 1 Glo Fish named Donald Trump because he’s orange and he’s a bully).

I am a rubber trimmer at work. No shit, that is my title…rubber trimmer.  Or as Frankie says, “She trims rubbers.”  No, not of the prophylactic variety.  I work for a Ford restoration company and I trim the rubber extrusion that comes off the line. Alllll day…one piece after another for 10 hours a day. It may sound like I don’t like it, but I actually do. It’s the job that I wanted mainly because I only work 3.5 days a week, but also because it keeps my hands busy which is essential to my mental well being. Am I smart enough to do something besides the monotonous trimming of rubber all day – well, yeah. Am I brave enough – well, no. Damn PTSD. But that’s another topic for another day.

When I was at work, rubber trimming away, I was thinking (I have a lot of time to think) that I wanted to start a blog and had a at least a million thoughts to write about. Now, I’m home, about to fall asleep where I sit and can’t think of a single one of them. I know, you’re going to say, jot things down as they come to your mind. That won’t exactly work being the dependable rubber trimming employee that I am. They say it’s not production, BUT they do expect you to keep the pace up, so no time for jotting…only trimming. So much for an exciting first post, huh!?

Looks like this will be the end of my debut blog. I don’t know if anyone will read it and at the risk of sounding bitchy…don’t really care. Not trying to be the professional blogger, just the rubber trimming artist. Oh, forgot to mention that whole artist thing. I’m getting a lot better and perhaps I’ll share one day. Right now, this rubber trimming, blogging artist must go to sleep. Rubber trimming starts bright and squirrely at 5:45 in the a.m.

Love, Susan. Amen.

Leave a Reply

